3205

 

 

General Instructions

The New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration only requires that you file for an extension if you have not paid 100% of the Interest and Dividend taxes due.

New Hampshire grants an automatic seven-month extension of time to file until November 15, 2015. However, to avoid interest and penalties, New Hampshire requires that your total tax liability be paid by April 15, 2015.

An extension to file your return is not an extension of time to pay your taxes.

To avoid interest and penalties you must pay your current year tax liability in full by April 15, 2015 and submit your New Hampshire return by November 15, 2015.

Pay your taxes online at eFile NH.

You can also pay your taxes online at Official Payments Corporation. Visa, MasterCard, Discover Network, and American Express credit and debit cards, and other forms of payment, such as Bill Me Later® are accepted. To make a debit card payment you can use a MasterCard or Visa Debit Card or any debit card with Nyce, Pulse or Star logos. If you choose this payment method, be sure to keep the confirmation number as proof of payment for your records.

There is a convenience fee for this service which is paid directly to the company. The amount of the fee is based on the amount of your payment.

Pay your taxes by phone by calling Official Payments toll-free at 1-800-272-9829. This automated service is available 24 hours, 7 days a week. At the end of your call you will be given a confirmation number. Save this as proof of payment for your records.

There is a convenience fee for this service which is paid directly to the company. The amount of the fee is based on the amount of your payment.

Along with the extension form, send a check or money order in the amount of the estimated tax due made payable to the State of New Hampshire. Enclose, but do not staple or tape your payment to this estimate. Do not file a $0 estimate. Mail to:
NH DRA
PO Box 1201
Concord, NH 03302-1201

In all cases, interest will be charged at an annual rate of 10% from the date the tax should have been paid (April 15, 2015) until the date of payment. In addition, the state may assess the following penalties:

  • Late Filing Penalty: New Hampshire will also assess a late payment penalty of 5% per month to a maximum of 25% of the outstanding balance
  • Non-Payment Penalty: New Hampshire will also assess a penalty equal to 10% of any nonpayment or underpayment of taxes shall be imposed if the taxpayer fails to pay the tax when due. If failure to pay is due to fraud, the penalty shall be 50% of the amount of the non-payment or underpayment.

New Hampshire does not require that you request an extension. There is nothing to be filed with the state at this time.

For more information, visit The New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration.